How UCAS points are allocated for RAD exams

Graded and vocational graded examinations in dance at RQF Level 3 are allocated points on the UCAS tariff.

This means that candidates who have achieved a pass or higher in Grades 6, 7, 8, Intermediate or Advanced Foundation, can use their RAD exam result towards their points tariff when applying to a relevant course at a university or higher education in the UK.

The points tariff for each exam level and attainment band is shown in the table below. See also the UCAS tariff tables document (number 4 in the Useful Information section, page 76 of the document):

Exam Pass Merit Distinction
Grade 6 8 10 12
Grade 7 12 14 16
Grade 8 16 18 20
Intermediate 8 14 20
Advanced Foundation 16 20 24

Size band: 2

Grade bands: 8-10 (Grade 8), 6-8 (Grade 7), 4-6 (Grade 6), 3-11 (Intermediate), 4-12 (Advanced Foundation)

Points apply to:

  • Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) and Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) qualifications awarded from November 2010 onwards (January 2011 in Australia, Canada, New Zealand and South Africa)
  • Qualifications accredited by SQA Accreditation awarded from January 2012 onwards, including SCQF qualifications
  • earlier qualifications, accredited on the National Qualifications Framework (NQF) and awarded from 2001-10 with the exception of Intermediate (as this was at Level 2 on the NQF).

When applying to UCAS online, the ‘centre no’ should be listed as ‘0000’.

You should be able to enter your centre name manually (on Education, UCAS). Click the option to add a school/college/centre and then click on ‘Find’. In the pop-up box state the name of the school and then click on ‘Search’. The name won’t be found and a red link will appear in the pop-up box: ‘My school / centre is not listed here’. You should click on this and this will allow you to manually state the name of the school on the form.